PERPLEXITY- REMENISCE

Part 3

REMINISCE

‘Lee are you okay?, of course you not, I came as soon as I could what happened’ John said as he barged into the kitchen soaking wet he looked as if he was being chased I could feel his heart exploding in his chest as he held me close, with all the sweat that had took residence on his body he still smelled delightful he held me closer waiting for me to burst in tears but I wasn’t about to become weak for him that was wasn’t happening.

‘John what are you doing here’ I asked him and I think it sounded wrong to ask my husband that even though I needed him wishing he could stay with me tonight but I wasn’t going to tell him that I needed him to be strong for me without me letting him know I was weak, does it even make sense because it doesn’t in my head.

‘I came as soon as the police officer called me and told me what had happened’ John

‘you shouldn’t have darling I have everything under control’ I said this so calm kissing him on the cheek

‘what is that supposed to mean I am even shocked that you did not call me I mean I had to receive the news from the police why are you so closed up Lee why don’t you just open up for me’

I opened my mouth with the hope to answer him but then memory of my mother came to me how she taught us to never be weak for any man, father left her for a younger more weak woman when I was 18 his last words before he left were “I can’t keep being unfaithful to you” that alone tore us apart but then my mother was not about to be weak she said to me and my younger sister us being weak could result in a man feeling he had power over us and so I was not about to be in such a position when Cindi married Thabo she had been so dependent on Thabo and was more like his lap dog than his wife look at him now cheating with every woman at the bank, I personally think it’s because she allowed herself to be weak and I told myself I’ll never be that weak for any man…

“Lee are you going to say anything why are you so closed up I honestly thought after we got married things would change and we could be closer but it’s like you enjoy when I’m away from home” he said those words softly coming closer to me and to my surprise tears filled my eyes as I remembered how we met we were in college and he was a senior top in his class, a “nerd” we would have called him then. John was never the cool type but something made me unwind each time I was with him and he was so caring and loving but I never let him know that I love that part of him the most soon after we started dating he then scored himself a major contract that kept him away and I never had a problem with that but he called me always telling me he missed me and when he proposed at 25 I had plans to say no but mother said I’ll never find anyone better than John and so I said yes  how I regret that day I dragged a good man into an unhappy marriage but John can never leave me he loves me way too much and I fear his love will put him into the grave very early…

“are you expecting someone” John asked me as we heard someone knock on the door

“no” I said that as the thoughts filled my mind it sounded as this person was knocking with his fist instead of his knuckles I remember hearing this sound noise when Tisha came to my  home the day before we went to court crying again she said she was scared to testify and that she thought it was a bad idea to stand in court in front of  Daniel and testify about him well she thought he would hunt her till he found her, I assured her that we were putting Daniel to life he would never touch her the next day when we met at court I still remember it vividly for it was my proud moment she wore a red blouse with her hair pinned down I could see the terror in her eyes as she walked towards me I could feel her foot steps on the carpet it felt as if time had frozen for she just seemed to be walking slower I could see her hands tremble as she approached me, when she finally glanced at Daniel he looked horrified I knew this because I spend weeks studying him he flashed his smile at her but I could see the fear in his eyes. According to sources Tisha was the only girl Daniel had ever loved making her the perfect witness, when she took the stand she spoke about his anger issues where she reviewed how he nearly killed her during an argument and how she begged him to stop and he wouldn’t stop “ I was saved by a knock on the door the person seemed to be banging on the door with their fist instead of their knuckles. I never saw the person but somehow that person calmed him down and that was the last day I saw him” she said that day at court and that was the day he got arrested for all the murders he committed  so I can remember that bang any day maybe that’s Tisha she must be paranoid  since Daniel Russo escaped.

I walked with john as he was about to open the door, that wasn’t Tisha this woman was shorter and pale she looked as if she hadn’t slept in 3 days the bags around her eyes was evidence to this, I think she hadn’t taken a shower as well the was a bad smelled and she looked as if she was crying

“can we help you” – John

“ I TOLD HER NOT TO DO IT, I TOLD HER TO GO WITH ME TO CAPE TOWN TILL THIS WAS OVER AND THAT NIGHT SHE CAME TO TELL YOU SHE WAS LEAVING BUT YOU CONVINCED HER TO STAY YOU KILLED HER, YOU KILLED MY SISTER, YOU KILLED TISHA” she screamed I felt my body fail me followed by sudden darkness…

 

 

 

Leave a comment